Birthdays


Today is my son’s birthday.  My only son and my youngest child.  Twelve years ago, at this time, 10am, I was just starting labor and he wouldn’t come for several hours.  My ob/gyn was a doctor who was originally from Ghana.  

This was Joshua’s birthday and the details are things that I know.  Things that I can share with him.

I never knew any of these things and I never will.  I don’t know what time I was born.  I don’t know who my doctor was.  I don’t know how long my mother was in labor.  Things that people take for granted in their life, I don’t know.  

It’s just that way for us adoptees.  Birthdays are so complicated because they bring up so many complex emotions. The day of our birth, which is usually a day of great celebration, is instead a day of mourning and remembering our rejection.

I swore my kids would never feel the same way I felt about their birthday. I always tried to make them feel special in my own way.  

But today I am not with my son for his birthday and there’s nothing that can take the pain that I feel from not being there with him today.  

He’s becoming a young man and he needs his mother to be there with him.  I have made very deliberate parenting decisions based on how I felt as an adoptee. And I need to refocus and remember why I made the sacrafices in the life that I have.

It’s always been for them and it always will be.

I won’t spend another one of their birthdays away from any of them.

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Biography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

