Pieces of Me

Entering into my third week away and things don’t get any easier.

I knew I would miss my children- that was a given, but I didn’t realize how much their missing me would affect me. 

As an adoptee, thinking about what my kids must be feeling stirs deeply rooted emotions of missing my birth mother.  I remember how much I just wanted to know her.  And now that I know that I  will never know her, I have been able to move on.

But I am alive and my kids have to deal with the emotions of knowing I’m here and not with them.  And it breaks me inside.  The feeling that I am going to burst into a million pieces is gone.  Replaced by the feeling that I AM in a million pieces and I have no fucking clue how to put them together.

Sometimes I think I’ll never be whole again.  My family was my whole life.  It defined me.  I don’t have some great career or my own anything.  I have to rely on my friends for stuff and I hate that.  It makes me feel like a burden or a fucking charity case.  It makes me feel weak when I am being told I am strong.

I’m being asked “what are you good at?”  “What can you do?” from people who are trying to help me find work.

I was good at being a mom and a wife.  That’s what I’m good at.  Centering my life around my family and making sure that they were all good before I worried about me.

Now I’m here, with just me.  And I feel lost.  And lonely.  And confused.

How did I end up here?  What can I do?

Right now, I have no easy answers and all I know for sure is that I miss the hell outta my kids.  I wish they could come see me here.  

Just another day to spend wandering aimlessly hoping to find some direction. Hoping to find a way to get a little bit stronger and not rely on anyone for anything. Have I mentioned that I fucking hate having to rely on anyone? 

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Biography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

