318

318

A lot of you who know me, know that I put 318 on a lot of the things that I have on social media. and you may wonder why.  Or you may not care.

But I’m gonna tell you anyway.

March 18th is my birthday.

And I readily admit that my birthday is kinda a big deal to me.  I’m kinda obsessed with it.

It’s the only concrete thing I have ever had most of my life.

Until I had my own children, that is.

For a lot of Domestic adoptees, it’s like that.

And for International Adoptees, a lot of them don’t even have that.  Their birthdays are wild guesses.  Off by years.  Not even close.  It’s a cosmic joke.  Horoscopes and Numerology and Birth Charts are meaningless.  They mock them.

I don’t know the hour of my birth.  I don’t have a copy of my original birth certificate.  And barring an act of God.  I never will see it.  It’s sealed in a file in Albany, New York somewhere.  Strangers can see it.  Confidential Intermediaries can see it.  But I can’t.

And I even know who my birth mother is.  I’ve known since 2009.  Ad she’s dead.  So it can’t hurt her for me to see it.

And there’s no father listed.  Or at least, I don’t think there is.  And if there is, it isn’t really the man that is my father.

Because the man that they think is my father, isn’t.

So, that’s not real.

Only my birthday is real. March 18th. 318.

My name on that piece of paper was only my name for 2 1/2 years. Sarah Elizabeth Krawczyk.

Next my name was Sara Jane Heslin.  Until I was 29.

Then it became Sara Jane Woods.

Now it’s gonna change again.  To idk what. Because idk who I am anymore.

And for how long, idk.

I have lived over twenty different places in my life and I am about to move again .  I have never had any permanence there.

So 318 is the only thing in my life that is solid.  Like a rock.  It will never change.

No one can ever take that away from me.

And now, being a mom.  That’s real.  It’s solid.  I have my blood. And they are with me.

That’s solid.  And no one can ever take that away from me.

So to me when I write 318, I am writing them, too.

SaraJane318

My kids have gotten my into the 21st Century and I am on Snapchat – so add me – because I might be there – but I don’t know how to add people – Sarajane318 (what else 😉 )

AND in case y’all didn’t know – I sell tea – so check out my business page Sunshine Tea Lousiana

 

 

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Biography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 318

  1. Elizabeth Phillips says:

    Sending love to you and your children 😀

Leave a Reply

