A Mother’s Heart

alee

I don’t know how to reach you all the time, but I want to.  I want to get inside your brain and tell you that you are smart and pretty and funny and kind.

I want to hold you and let you know that the world may seem overwhelming now, but it eventually gets smaller and everything becomes familiar and fear starts to melt away.

I wish I could get you to see that the material things that people flaunt in front of you are useless baubles and do not define a person’s inner value.   And also that the person who is taunting you shows an ugly soul, and that’s not someone that you should care about anyway.

I wish you could understand that when I was your age, I felt all the same things that you feel.  That I understand where you are right now and that it hurts me to see you so hurt and confused.

I wish you would know that all of my doubts and fears in life right now revolve around you.  And I want you to understand how much I must feel for you to put you at the center of everything I do and feel.

Most of all, I wish you knew that you are valuable.  Just as you are.  No matter what you may hear.  No matter what you may think.  You are a beautiful soul.

Life has ups and downs.  This is true.  And sometimes it feels like it is always down.  But if you’re truthful, you’d admit that there are the ups too.

The quiet times when you sit with your sisters and laugh about a stupid joke.  The times when you sit quietly and a kitten purrs on your lap.  The times when you walk outside after a rain and see a rainbow.

The rest of life is just a distraction.  I wish I could get you to see.

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Biography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mother’s Heart

  1. Ann Louise Schmitt says:

    I ❤️This.

  2. Lanor says:

    This is so sweet 🌸💛

Leave a Reply

