The Days Between

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

When i was younger, I used to follow the Grateful Dead around.  It was fun times.  I learned a lot about life and a lot about myself during this time. And I got to go to a bunch of really cool places and explore what they had to offer.

One of my favorite Grateful Dead Songs is “Days Between” – which Jerry Garcia wrote and sang.

It in essence talks about the boring spaces in our lives when we have put all our vacations trophies on a shelf to collect dusk and we live boring old day to day life.

One of the things that I have noticed in today’s society is that people (myself included) do not take the time to sit and enjoy those days in between.

The days when you aren’t running and moving and shaking and making things happen.  Those days when you sit in silence.  When you may actually be able to watch a rainbow from beginning to end.

Those are the days in between.

The spaces that stretch our life to its fullest.  The times when we have nothing to do but let time pass.

When I was listening to Jerry sing then, he was  around the age that I am now.  And the song that I loved so much back then – is one that I can relate to so intimately now.

I am 46 this year, he was 53 when he died.  I will listen and not forsake the days that lie between.

 

 

 

 

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Biography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

