SAE represents the ideal for White People

It’s been a couple days since the big news has broken about the Oklahoma University chapter of the fraternity SAE being caught on tape singing a disgustingly racist song.

Not just singing.  They were singing with gusto and enthusiasm.  Gleefully, loudly and proudly.  EVERY LAST ONE OF THEM.

I do not need to rehash the details of that story again.  We’ve all seen the video and heard the “apologies” and the justifications.

And people have settled down and gone back to life as normal, right?

Right?

Then why doesn’t it feel right?  Why did I spend the entire day that this news broke in total despair, asking myself “what is the point of trying to engage in a system that is so obviously hostile to My People?”  Why am I sending my children out into a world like this?  How do I even prepare them to deal with an enemy that they cannot even see?

I’m imagining things right?  The system is really not hostile to My People.  That is why young men who we all obviously know will be our future leaders were singing a song that they knew very well.  A song that they had been taught to them by others.  By others who have still remained hidden in obscurity because no camera caught them.  So they remain in school and prepare to graduate and go out in the world.  Shrouded. A hidden enemy.

Why does this bother me so much?

Because those boys are every boy.   They represent the Average American Male.  Their status in life is the status that is being taught in our schools as not only the norm, but as something to be sought after.  It is the preferred status that is continuously drilled into our minds from the minute that we enter school.  They represent the epitome of what it means to be a successful American.  It is what we are taught that everyone needs to try to emulate.

Yet, according to them, certain classes of people will forever be excluded from their ranks.

That means that no matter how hard we work and how good we do in school and in life, we will still be excluded from their special status, their special clubs.

Certain groups of people can never enjoy the benefits of nepotism.  Certain groups will never enjoy networking opportunities that are reserved for the elite.  NEVER.  NEVER.  NEVER.

I can hear it echoing in my mind.  Over and over and over and over.

“There will NEVER…. there will NEVER…. you can hang em from a tree, but they’ll NEVER sign with me…There will NEVER…”

And I say, no wonder nothing ever changes.  No wonder our income gap remains ridiculous.  No wonder our incarceration rates are highly skewed.  No wonder.

I find this problematic because they are hiding their agenda while simultaneously advancing their agenda in our institutions.  Racist are hidden in our schools and teaching our children as seen in this article:  http://www.baltimorespectator.com/2015/03/beware-of-bowleys-quarters-white.html?m=1#.VQDUiI7F_nH.  A teacher “jokes” about shooting Black people for walking in a certain neighborhood.  And I’m supposed to believe that he fairly and impartially judges his students.

But then we are told that there is no such thing as Institutional racism.  We are told that things like the school to prison pipeline does not exist.  The Supreme Court of the United States said that racism wasn’t even a “thing” anymore.

Yet, here we are.

In 2015 America, with our “ideal” – the epitome of what we are being taught that we need to become – is singing a song that makes my skin crawl.  A song that makes me just want to give up.

How can I fight something that they are trying so hard to hide.?

I don’t mind working to get my own.  I don’t mind working around (avoiding) racist people and institutions.  But how can I when the continuously get in my way?

But when you are shoving your agenda down my throat and disguising it as “public schools and institutions” while at the same time actively working to deny me access to any and all methods of success, it infuriates me.  It feels very personal and it feels very wrong.

America, you need to do better.  Make up your mind.  You either want us to be part of your society and grow with us, or you don’t.  But make up your mind.  Because this back and forth gas lighting BS is literally driving me crazy.

And I’m not ashamed to say that.

What you are doing is completely wrong.

If you wanna put us all on a ship doused with gasoline and send it out to the middle of the ocean and set it ablaze – then say that.  Once we’re gone, then what?

If you really don’t want us to be part of your groups and institutions, then why are you patting us on the back and shaking our hands?  Why are you watching us play basketball or football?  Why?  I just don’t understand.  Actually, I lied.  I do understand.  We must only be here to amuse you.  To entertain you.  But never, never, never be in your clubs.  In your board rooms.  In your homes.

Ok, that’s fine.

Then stop trying to say that we can.  Stop trying to lead us down a primrose path of lies.  Because that is all your institutions are right now.  Lies.

Until I can look at that picture of that boy leading that song and say “Oh, he’s just an anomaly, they don’t really feel like that.”  We have a problem.

He unfortunately represents most of you.  NOT ALL, but a lot.

Worst yet, he represents what our schools and institutions are pushing every single student to be.  EVERY single one.

SO that is why I cannot let this go.

Until Levi stops becoming “every man” – I cannot let it go.  When he becomes an anomaly, I will let it go.  But for right now, he’s not.

He’s the boy calling the girls from my daughter’s basketball team “LaQuisha.”

He’s the boy who goes to an Ivy League school, yet thinks Black Face parties are “on fleek.”

He’s the teacher that asks the Chinese student where they are from because, you know, no Asians have ever been born in America.

He’s every man.

levipettit4-800x430

This is what every school America defines as “success” and anything short is failure.

And that’s what makes him the scariest person of all.  He will go back and hide back in society and keep his racist views closely hidden, only simmering under the surface, but he will have learned nothing outside of that. And he will go out in the world and not hire minorities.  And engage in racial profiling.  Or shoot the young Black boy walking home from the store because he looked suspicious. And pay women less than men.  And sexualize Asian women. And think that all Mexicans are illegal immigrants. And arrest people trying to feed the homeless.  And complain that poor people don’t deserve assistance, while accepting corporate welfare, ummm I mean subsidies.

And that scares the hell out of me.

And until I stop being scared, or I stop breathing OR he becomes an anomaly, I will continue to expose every single one of these men.

EVERY SINGLE ONE.

Silence = Compliance

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Oklahoma, Oklahoma University, OU, Racism, Racist Fraternity, SAE and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

