UT Medical Center and Apple Emojis

I have to take a break from my story to voice a couple concerns.

And to keep up with my resolution to post something everyday.

I missed a post yesterday.  Because as I sat at my computer to write the next page of my story, my oldest daughter came out of her room (They are on snow day number five) and said that she thinks that something happened to her older brother.

After talking to his mother, my daughter tells me that he has been in a car accident and is in surgery at UT Medical Center.  Would we take her?

Of course.

She loves her older brothers.  She’s at an age where she can get to know them as people and has been establishing a great relationship with them since she met them two years ago.  And I love them (and their mama and granny and the whole extended family) for accepting her into their lives.

So we go to the hospital with her.  And wait… and wait …. and wait… for answers to what is going on.

We find out that he was in a very bad accident and seems to have injured his neck severely.  And that’s all I will say about his condition except that if you pray or believe in sending healing vibrations.  Please do so, they are much needed and appreciated.

I will say that I have faith that a person who loves my child as much as this young man does, deserves full recovery.  It may sound selfish to say he “deserves” anything, but that is how I feel and that is the word that I want to use.  So if God’s merit is ever bestowed upon the deserving, then let His blessings flow down.

I will say that in the 9 hours that we were in the hospital, that there were tears shed.  And that’s the point of my post here.  When people cry, they may need tissue.  And at the surgery waiting room, we were told to “only take a few because we don’t have that many.”

In a hospital.  In the surgery waiting room.

Why would you ever say something like that?

Sometimes things happen and I need to better understand why.  Sometimes I need wisdom to navigate this world because Wisdom will bring me understanding and patience.  I know that patience is a virtue and we are to be loving and long suffering toward our fellow man, but when people act foul for no apparent reason, I get really perplexed (and irritated).

And that is not something that people who are sitting in a waiting room of a hospital, waiting for news of loved one’s condition needs to be feeling.  To be limited on the number of tissues that someone can get while there, is mind numbingly confusing.

Will someone please donate $100 to UT Medical Center so that they can stock up on tissues in the middle of winter in the surgery waiting room?  Because they are getting low and need to limit them.

Now, I know I am probably being mean here.  But I want you to think about what I am saying here.

My daughter’s 22 year brother was in a tragic accident and was in surgery for several hours and his mother did not know anything about what was going on and was a little emotional.  But when we went to get tissue for her from the front desk (because you know, we don’t want to leave in case there is some news), we are told to “only take a few.”

So UT Medical Center needs some money.  To make sure that this doesn’t happen ever again to any other family.

And what does this have to do with Apple Emojis?

Nothing really. except that this morning I am mad to learn that Apple finally is going to have Black people emojis.

So what, right?  No big deal, they are finally “getting with the time.”

Because you know, Black people were just invented yesterday.

But let it sink in that they had Game of Thrones emojis and  a poop emoji before they had a Black person emoji.

Then maybe  you might understand why I am mad today.

I live in a world where tissues are limited in hospitals and poop gets more recognition than My People.

So today I need prayer – first for the recovery and strength for my daughter’s brother.  And then next for me to have the wisdom to be able to live in a world that acts like this.

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to UT Medical Center and Apple Emojis

  1. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Jo says:

    Praying for her brother, and hoping the hospital gets with the program!

  3. bethkoz says:

    Perfect!

Leave a Reply

