It was the best of times, it was the worst of times

I am posting a random thought here because I grow weary of this constant us v them attitude that seems to crop.up whenever anything mention is ever made about race or racial issues.

Wake up people, if you don’t understand that there are deeper issues at play here than race, then you have lost vision.

The reason I talk about race is because I am Black.  I have always been Black and I will always be Black.  My children are Black and they are precious to me.  So I will fight to my dying day to try to make the world a better place for them.  That means speaking on issues that affect my race, my people, my children.

Let me clarify something.  Just because I am talking about Black people, does not mean that I don’t understand the issues that plague the White community as well.  White rural poverty and the the meth issue are epidemics.  Pain killer addiction is a huge issue in impoverished White America.  I understand that and empathize with your struggles.

What I keep trying to say is that these ills are tied inextricably to the income disparity in this country.  If you don’t want to acknowledge that the median income for white people in 2010 was $56,600 and Blacks was $37,100, then maybe the fact that the gender gap in income is 22% might get you stirred up.  That’s right, in 2013, a woman doing the exact same work as a man, made only 78% of what men made.

Sounds fair, right?

But I’m being some kind if “reverse racist” for pointing out inequality and injustice in the workplace.

Sometimes I don’t have time to write an entire blog or pull up all the necessary quotes to back up what I am saying.  Sometimes I can only type a little snarky line to get your attention.

But if you want facts…. here’s one –

Between 1979 and 2011, CEO’s salaries in US companies rose 725%.

725%…..

Let that sit with you for a while before I tell you that the average worker’s income rose by 5.7%.

And I’m the.problem for pointing out the irony that the people who most likely benefited from a day off for MLK Jr. Day were white.

Stop and think about it.  What I said was true.

It’s as sad and ironic as politicians touting veterans in Veterans Day while cutting aid to the homeless (who are largely vets).

Yesterday, rich white men got a paid day off while his Brown nanny or maid worked.  That would not be something MLK Jr would want to have happened on a day honoring his legacy.  And that’s why it’s ironic.

Listen.  I know there is a racial income disparity problem and I’m willing to talk about it.  I am also willing to get down in the trenches and work with people to help lift them out of their situations.  I’ll do whatever it takes to help.

Are you willing to fight for your people or are you just gonna stand in the way of me fighting for mine and say “my people have problems too.”

I know this.  Do you?  Do you know that median income FOR EVERY RACIAL AND GENDER group has been declining while CEO pay and bonuses and shareholders dividends are setting records?

If you don’t know this and aren’t willing to do something about it beside get angry at a Black woman for trying to make life better for her kids, then you are the.problem.

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Biography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

