Summertime

Before I move into the start of Jr. High, I’d like to reminiscing about my childhood summers.

I started going to summer camp the summer after second grade and I never missed a summer of camp after that.

The first camp I went to was King’s Kids Kamp in Pennsylvania. My best friend and I went. I think her father was the camp director. We got to go to the Battlefield of Gettysburg. Since I was (am) a big history buff- this was an amazing place for me, especially the wax museum.

The next few years I went to different Girl Scout Camps around the Great Lakes area of New York. On year, we hiked the Appalachian Trail and spent the night at at rustic lea to on the top of the mountain. We ate MREs and learned about wildness survival.

Aside from summer camps, my summers were filled with swimming lessons at the local beach. We signed up through summer rec. and went to the lake everyday except Wednesday’s.

On Wednesday’s we’d go to the local skating rink. I loved the competitions because you could win candy, but I could never do the limbo with out falling. I also remember that I’d like to buy my soda- a mix of them all.

The last thing about summertime as a child was probably the most significant. It was my chance to finally spend time with some people who looked like me.

My family hosted Fresh Air kids from NYC for several years. My parent’s hosted kids that were the same age as their older children. One year, they hosted a girl named Robin who was my age. Robin had beads and braids in her hair and I remember being fascinated by her hair. One of the girls tried to braid my hair once, but it was too hopelessly matted..

As my parents older kids left the house, only Robin came to visit and the one year she, too, stopped coming.
After the Fresh Air kids stopped coming, it would be years before I spent significant time with anyone else the same color as I was. Summers were increasingly spent with my sports and classmates from school which made me feel popular, yet highlighted our differences all the more.

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

