11 Days

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d7f/29119558/files/2015/01/img_5363.jpg

My Baby Book

It doesn’t tell me much about me as an infant.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d7f/29119558/files/2015/01/img_5368.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d7f/29119558/files/2015/01/img_5365.jpg

26 pages and that’s all that’s written

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d7f/29119558/files/2015/01/img_5371.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/d7f/29119558/files/2015/01/img_5372.jpg

I always knew my birth name. Sarah Elizabeth Krawczyk. I was born in Lackawanna, New York. However, all my life there was some confusion that I was born at St. Joseph’s Hospital which was in Cheektowaga, not Lackawanna.

It is a wonder that my parents never had my birth information because they were my foster parents. I came to stay with them at 11 days old.

And that is where this baby’s story begins. I might have been born 11 days earlier, but where I was , who I was with , what I was doing are a mystery.

Like the pages of my baby book, the mystery of my life remain largely a mystery. And I am a fortunate adoptee, I know some of my birth family – their names at least . Others still and may forever remain a mystery.

I can ask my adoptive mother about the blank pages in my baby book. She can fill me in on what kind of baby I was and about when I started to walk, but she can’t tell me about the 11 days before I came to their home.

It may not seem like a lot to some people. But to my infant self, it was my whole life at the time. I wonder if I was held and loved. Kissed or sang too.

These thoughts don’t preoccupy my thoughts but this is the start of my story. This Baby’s story- Stuck in the Middle.

And it started in 11 days of mystery.

Since then I have been documenting almost everything. You can even see the scribbles in my baby book where I contributed. So this is my story. Let there be no more mysteries.

About sjwoods318

Mother of six children - five girls and one boy; wife; community organizer, family chauffeur, philosopher, trans-racial adoptee, Deadhead, person of mixed racial heritage, artist, poet, writer who loves to swim, read, and run around with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

